Blind Spot

Blind Spot

Why We Fail to See the Solution Right in Front of Us

Dr. Gordon Rugg

$21.02

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

The Voynich Manuscript has been considered to be the world's most mysterious book. Filled with strange illustrations and an unknown language, it challenged the world's top code-crackers for nearly a century.

But in just four-and-a-half months, Dr. Gordon Rugg, a renowned researcher, found evidence (which had been there all along) that the book could be a giant, glittering hoax.

In Blind Spot: Why We Fail to See the Solution Right in Front of Us, Dr. Rugg shares his story and shows how his toolkit of problem-solving techniques—such as his Verifier Method—can save the day, particularly in those times when the experts on your team have all the data in front of them but are still unaccountably at an impasse.

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Dan Ariely, Dr. Rugg, a rising star in computer science, challenges us to re-examine the way we think, and provides new tools to solve problems and crack codes in our own lives.


Author

Dr. Gordon Rugg:

Dr. Gordon Rugg is a senior lecturer in computer science at Keele University and a visiting senior research fellow in computing at the Open University, Milton Keynes. Rugg's research has delved into everything from attitude theory and artificial intelligence to information retrieval and software engineering for safety-critical systems. Rugg lives in Shropshire, UK.

Info

Reviews